Questions to ask the neurosurgeon

The eve before the neurosurgeons appointment. I’m sitting here writing out my list of questions for my first appointment with Dr. U (the second neurosurgeon)

I know there is going to be lots of questions tomorrow at my appointment but there are a few I want to make sure I get answers for. Mainly so i know what they plan on doing to correct this problem and the the selfish side of me wants to know if i can go on my family vacation next month.

Our family has been planning a big gathering of about 25 people, for almost a year now. They have even named it the havapalusa trip. Parents brothers cousins nephews, nieces, great nephews, water toys house boat, etc… Our first trip of this kind and I really don’t want to miss it.

Anyway here is the list of questions I have come up with.

What is the exact approach are you planning to get to my leak?

How much hair do you shave off?

How bis is the cut you will make in my scalp. Stitches or staples?

How much bone will you remove and how will you reattach it?

What are the common complications associated with this type of surgery?

The brain tissue that is in my sinus, do you have to amputate that or keep it? What function does this part of the brain control?

When do you expect to schedule surgery?

What test do we need to do before surgery?

Do you use the ct/MRI guided surgery?

How long do you plan for me to be in the hospital?

What is the usual recovery time? (can I go to havapalusa)

What are the restrictions after surgery?

What medications do you anticipate I will be taking after surgery?

Are anti seizure Meds a requirement? How long will I have to be on these?

How long is this surgery expected to take?

How long after surgery before I can drive?

What is the typical blood lose I expected from this type of surgery?

Do I need to have. Blood stored for surgery? Can family or friends that have the same blood type as me donate?

What kind of pain are we talking about just after surgery how is that managed I. The hospital?

How long does it typically take a patient to be pain free?

Like I said there will more questions tomorrow I’m sure. I will update this list if there are more important ones after the appointment. Have a blessed day, dnd thanks for following along on my journey.

About Just Jules

USCG Vet, wife, daughter, recently blimded in one eye from brain surgery, using my passion for 3Gun as my rehab.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

