Air conditioning and titanium plates and screws

I have finally figured out that some of my headaches and pain are from the air conditioner hitting my head and freezing my plates and screws that are holding the bone flap in place. I had heard from other craniotomy peeps that they can not use a hair dryer because near the surgery site because of the heat making the plates hot. Well I guess the same thing goes for cold air. This does not explain the swelling I get but for now I running with the idea that the A/C is causing my pain.

Ok so it is 99 degrees out and I have a cotton beanie hat (ski hat) on when the air conditioning is on. It does seem to make the pain go away. I’m ready to start wearing it in the car as well.

Just a word to those future peeps who are going through this, a loose fitting ski hat might be needed in the middle of summer to stop the headaches and pain.I wonder what winter is going to feel like. Maybe my hair will be long enough to insulate the plates?

About Just Jules

USCG Vet, wife, daughter, recently blimded in one eye from brain surgery, using my passion for 3Gun as my rehab.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Air conditioning and titanium plates and screws

  1. Lilly says:

    I’m so glad I found your blog, I need to make time to read from the beginning. I feel like the blow dryer makes hot spots also, so I don’t concentrate too close to my my plate and screws, I am also going to try the beanie idea. I had a craniotomy, due to a bilateral subdural hematoma, in Jan 2015. My surgeon has not been helpful at all. He never explained even half the things I have read in your blog so far. I keep complaining about the tightness around the plate and screws, which I never knew I had until I read the post ct report about 3 months later. He told me last week that I cannot feel the screws, so I made him feel a raised spot and he says “yes that is a screw and the plate is under that”. But he says the ct scan was normal and basically dismissed me.

Leave a Reply

