7 months post Craniotomy

Happy New Year everyone. Well I made it.

As I write this I am sitting on my couch, nursing a really bad flu, ringing in 2013. It as been one hell of a journey. Last New Year’s Eve we were enjoying a quite evening ringing in 2012 concerned with what was happening with the economy. What 2012 would bring for our company, our employees and our family. Little did we know we were going to have such an eventful year.

I received an email from WordPress that over 1700 people have read this blog. This blows my mind. Thank you to all who have read this blog and followed my journey. I started this to help me get my thoughts out, and with the very small chance I could help one person through their journey. I am amazed everyday how many searches their are every day for, craniotomy recovery, CSF leak.

A year ago I had never hear of a CSF leak. I knew one person who had a craniotomy because of a traumatic event that he is still recovering after 6 years. Scary stuff.

Anyways I wanted to say thank you for your thoughts and prayers.

As of today:
Not much has changed
Still have a positional headache
Awaiting info from Dr B and Dr U on what were are going to do with the continued CSF leak
Still blind in one eye
Speech and comprehension issues.
And still have a continued concern for a brain infection since it appears that there is still a small hole into the brain cavity.

Having the flu right now has been concerning. The coughing and hacking make the headache worse. Also since there is that communication from the sinus and the brain I am worried about communication of an infection and or a virus getting in there. I know that I will not get an infection, I know I will be fine. It is just scary going through all of this when the medical community does not seem to care. Actually they care, just not as much as I do. It is my life.

Anyways I’ll sign off now. Happy New year to all who read this. If you are new to this blog just know that only the medical cases that have issues usually make the web. Everyone else has made it through these surgeries just fine and have gotten on with their lives. Which I am positive will happen for me sooner or later. Keep being your own medical advocate. If your gut is telling you something is wrong/off. Make sure you follow up until you are comfortable with the answers.

About Just Jules

USCG Vet, wife, daughter, recently blimded in one eye from brain surgery, using my passion for 3Gun as my rehab.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

