Buffering…

Well, where do I begin?

The hubs and I just returned from a month long journey across this wonderful nation of ours.

I started shooting the 3 gun nation regional series. The last match was in Kentucky, we live in California. I still have not flown since surgery, so I was concerned and did not want to fly to the matches in Kentucky.

I looked at the map, told the hubby “let’s drive”. Ok so that might have been a little ambitious on my part. Kentucky looks a lot closer on a map to California then it actually is.

There was actually 2 matches 7 days a part firm each other at the same facility, so of course I wanted to shoot both matches. Meet people and have fun.

Ok so the “meet people” was a challenge for me. Along with the heat and humidity which made the brain to trigger finger issues. As well as being out of shape. The six weeks before we left for Kentucky I was flat on my back. My back had decided to go out on me. Ugh…

Back to buffering:

In Las Vegas back in May I had my team mates with me. I had people I knew who helped me along the way. This time I was going to 2 matches 8 states away and no friends with me from the industry. I was on my own. Had to remember how to sight my rifle (humidity will do weird things to your ballistics), introduce myself to others and have a great time. Aside for me looking like a complete fool not being able to hit my long range targets, I had a total blast. The issue I really ran into was at the ceremony after the first match.

There was about 300 people at the ceremony, the hubs wasn’t feeling well so I went by myself. Navigating the crowds, talking to vendors, then came the idle chitchat waiting for the awards. I would introduce myself then words would come out pressured, backwards and wrong words were being replaced with what I wanted to say. Ugh… I ended up going back to the hotel early. I received a text from one of the event people who wanted to interview me for the web show they were producing. Needless to say I was frustrated and relieved at the same time when I had to decline because I was at the hotel.

I posted up my frustration on FB and a shooter said I need a sign that just says buffering on it. Lol

I had my second match 7 days later at the ProAm match. Still had brain 2 trigger issues but felt a lot more relaxed at this match. Met some wonderful people, made a few contacts and actually feel like I just might belong.

Now to have a shirt made for next months 2 matches that say buffering on it… That way when I have a speech pause or say something very idiotic I can just point to the shirt .

P.s. Sorry if this is scattered and confused, since returning from our trip (we stayed in Lake Tahoe for a week) I have had massive headaches and a little bit confused these past few days. I think the high altitude did me in. I am calling the doctor on Monday to verify if I should be concerned.

About Just Jules

USCG Vet, wife, daughter, recently blimded in one eye from brain surgery, using my passion for 3Gun as my rehab.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

