Dr B’s Kimberly – a huge debt of gratitude paid

I forgot to write this the other day.

On Monday I went for my appointment with Dr B. after my appointment I saw Kimberly. She has been my savior during my whole craniotomy ordeal.

She has gone above and beyond her job title and position to assist me through their clinic, since I am from another medical group. From dealing with my insurance for approvals, dealing with her medical group to get my approvals to the correct departments, as well as all of my phone calls with concerns for my health. She has been there when I needed a letter, an email, a phone call. You name it, anything I have needed to help me thought this mess, she has been there.

Anyways we hugged and wished each other Happy Thanksgiving. She knows I love to cook and wanted to know what I was in charge of this year. I explained that I have forced myself into a self induced rehab project called one eye on the pot. And that i was making a modern version of the old standard green bean casserole and fresh pumpkin pie from a fresh pumpkin.

Blogging about it HERE Basically I am cooking things I have never attempted before to get me back into the swing of things, being blind, no sense of taste, depth perception etc…)

I explained that I made my own fresh pumpkin purée and was attempting, fresh made pumpkin pie. Her eyes lite up. (Over the past 6 months I had tried to thank her with wine, dinner gift certificates, anything as a thank you for the job she has done, to no avail. She only wanted to make me happy) so Monday night I went home and baked a fresh pumpkin purée pumpkin pie from scratch with flaky pie crust. The hubs thought I was nuts making her a pie, he was not there for the look on her face.

Anyways on Tuesday I had an appointment just down the street from her office. I walked into the appointment check in desk and asked if they could call Kimberly for me. They saw the pie and smiled, then called Kimberly. She came bouncing out of her office with her usual smile, that turned in to a squeaky voice and a huge smile staring at the pie. The other workers started to gather at the sight of commotion, and I am guessing the sight of food. Anyways. I told her it was for all of the hard work she has done for me. It felt really great knowing that I was able to make her day with the pie. I have a feeling that the pie had no chance of making it home with her that day. Most likely it was devoured in minutes.

Anyway, I hope she at the very least was able to get one piece of it.

About Just Jules

USCG Vet, widow, daughter, recently blinded in one eye from brain surgery, using my passion for 3Gun as my rehab.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment